Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson involved in a bizarre rules infraction at Hero World Challenge

NASSAU, Bahamas – It’s been one of those weeks for Jordan Spieth.

With rounds of 71-72-75, he began the final day of the Hero World Challenge at Albany Golf Club in last place. His third round ended when his ball moved on the 18th green and he forgot to replace it before hitting his next putt. That resulted in a two-stroke penalty.

Well, in Sunday’s final round, Spieth and defending champion Henrik Stenson were involved in a bizarre penalty situation. Follow along.

When the two reached the par-5 ninth hole, they naturally teed off. Trouble is, they teed off from the tee markers representing the teeing area for the par-3 17th hole. Yes, there is a large teeing area that is home for both the tee boxes for the ninth and 17th holes.

The tee box on the 17th hole had moved overnight to where the tee box was for the ninth hole during the third round. The tee box for the ninth hole in the final round was moved up. Multiple signs were posted alerting the players.

Spieth and Stenson were informed of their violation in the fairway of the ninth hole by chief referee Stephen Cox. The two returned to the tee box and hit from the proper tee. Each was assessed a two-shot penalty.

If Spieth and Stenson had teed off on the 10th hole, they would have been disqualified.

Read More

—————————–

By: Steve DiMeglio
Title: Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson involved in a bizarre rules infraction at Hero World Challenge
Sourced From: golfweek.usatoday.com/2021/12/05/jordan-spieth-henrik-stenson-bizarre-rules-infraction-hero-world/
Published Date: Sun, 05 Dec 2021 17:53:31 +0000

Share This